News and Media

KIDS ARE OFF LIMITS

April 28, 2010
For Immediate Release

Stop Sex with Kids campaign turns the corner from education to action: Adults have a responsibility to protect children

Winnipeg, MB: Manitobans gathered in downtown Winnipeg today to launch Phase III of the Stop Sex with Kids public awareness campaign - a call-to-action designed to mobilize adults to get involved and do their part to protect children.

"Men who use kids are sex offenders and it's up to all of us to do something about it. It's up to us to protect children," said Gord Mackintosh, minister of family services. "Today we are putting these men on notice: we see them and we will no longer be bystanders to their exploitation and abuse. Our kids are off-limits."

The first two phases of the Stop Sex with Kids campaign, a part of the Manitoba Strategy called Tracia's Trust to address child sexual exploitation, focused on raising the public's awareness of kids who are being bought for sex in Manitoba. Phase three of the campaign is a call-to-action, putting the onus on all adults to become a part of the solution.

"In Manitoba we have changed our attitudes, changed our language, and now we must change our actions. No longer will these users and abusers be off the hook," said Christy Dzikowicz, Director of Child Find Manitoba. "We will not stand by and allow our children to be harmed."

"The Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs supports the Stop Sex with Kids Campaign. In the city of Winnipeg alone, we have a high number of our children that fall victim to sexual exploitation," said Grand Chief Ron Evans, Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs. "This cannot be tolerated. In working together, we have raised a significant amount of awareness on sexual exploitation. We must continue to take meaningful action to protect our most vulnerable citizens and stop the sexual exploitation of our children. Each of us has a responsibility to keep our children safe."

"As Canada's global voice against child sexual exploitation, Beyond Borders continues to support the Stop Sex with Kids campaign in Manitoba," states the organization's president, Rosalind Prober. "We know from our own Man-to-Man campaign efforts that most men are not okay with child sexual exploitation and we encourage their active participation to end the abuse now."

On the new Stop Sex with Kids website, the public can view the new TV PSA, listen to the radio PSA, access all advertising components (billboards, transit and bathroom ads), download the It's up to me declaration, request a free button, register for the May 25th Workplace Day of Action, and read about two exciting online initiatives that provide Manitobans with the opportunity to visually demonstrate their concern and commitment to the protection of children. Visit www.stopsexwithkids.ca.

Visit http://www.gov.mb.ca/fs/traciastrust/index.html to access the Manitoba Strategy. Visit www.beyondborders.org/wp/ to access the Man-to-Man campaign.

-30-

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

Phone:
204-945-8074
204-801-2979 (Cell)

Email:
communications@protectchildren.ca

Actualités et communiqués

PAS TOUCHE AUX ENFANTS!

Le 28 avril 2010
Pour diffusion immédiate

La campagne Stoppez la prostitution juvénile passe en mode action : Les adultes ont le devoir de protéger les enfants

Winnipeg (Manitoba) : Manitobaines et Manitobains se sont réunis au centre-ville de Winnipeg aujourd'hui pour lancer la Phase III de la campagne « Stoppez la prostitution juvénile », qui appelle les adultes à agir et à fournir leur part d'efforts pour protéger les enfants.

« Les hommes qui abusent de nos enfants sont des délinquants sexuels, et c'est à nous tous de faire quelque chose. C'est à nous de protéger les enfants, affirme Gord Mackintosh, ministre des Services à la famille. Aujourd'hui nous lançons un avertissement à ces hommes : nous les surveillons et nous ne resterons plus les bras croisés pendant qu'ils abusent de nos enfants et les exploitent. Pas touche à nos enfants! »

La campagne Stoppez la prostitution juvénile fait partie de « Tracia's Trust » : la Stratégie manitobaine de lutte contre l'exploitation sexuelle des enfants; les deux premières phases de la campagne dirigeaient l'attention sur la prostitution d'enfants au Manitoba. La phase III est un appel à l'action; elle appelle les adultes à faire partie de la solution.

« Au Manitoba, nous avons changé nos attitudes et notre vocabulaire, et cela doit maintenant se refléter dans nos gestes. Nous ne pouvons plus laisser ces abuseurs agir impunément, clame Christy Dzikowicz, directrice de Child Find Manitoba. Nous ne les laisserons pas faire du mal à nos enfants. »

« L'Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs appuie la campagne Stoppez la prostitution juvénile. Rien qu'à Winnipeg, l'exploitation sexuelle fait de nombreuses victimes parmi nos enfants, observe le grand chef Ron Evans de l'Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs. C'est inacceptable. En unissant nos efforts, nous avons fait de grands pas en matière de sensibilisation à l'exploitation sexuelle. Il nous faut continuer de poser des gestes concrets pour protéger les membres les plus vulnérables de notre population et faire cesser l'exploitation sexuelle de nos enfants. Nous avons tous et toutes le devoir de protéger la sécurité de nos enfants. »

« Au-delà des frontières continue d'appuyer la campagne Stoppez la prostitution juvénile au Manitoba; nous sommes la voix du Canada sur la scène internationale dans la lutte contre l'exploitation sexuelle des enfants, souligne à présidente de l'organisme, Rosalind Prober. Notre campagne Homme à homme nous montre que la plupart des hommes réprouvent l'exploitation sexuelle des enfants, et nous les encourageons à participer activement à la lutte contre les abus pédosexuels. »

Le nouveau site internet de la campagne Stoppez la prostitution juvénile permet de visionner le nouveau clip télé, d'entendre le clip radio, de voir tous les supports publicitaires de la campagne (panneaux publicitaires, affichage transport, panneaux dans les salles de bains), de télécharger la déclaration À moi d'agir, de demander un macaron gratuit, de s'inscrire à la Journée d'action du 25 mai et de se renseigner sur deux belles initiatives en ligne qui offrent à la population manitobaine la possibilité d'afficher leur attachement à la protection de l'enfance. Cliquez www.stoppezlaprostitutionjuvenile.ca.

Cliquez www.gov.mb.ca/fs/childfam/strategy_on_sexual_exploitation.fr.html pour vous renseigner sur la Stratégie manitobaine. Passez au http://www.beyondborders.org/wp/accueil/ pour vous renseigner sur la campagne Homme à homme.

-30-

Pour plus de détails, voici comment nous joindre :

  • Téléphone: (204) 945-5735
  • Sans frais: (800) 532-9135
  • Nous écrire