News and Media

NEW TOOL WILL ENGAGE MORE CANADIANS IN THE SEARCH FOR MISSING CHILDREN

Canadian Centre for Child Protection also Releases Preliminary Research Findings on Abducted and Murdered Children in Canada

May 24, 2012
For Immediate Release

TORONTO, ON: On the eve of International Missing Children’s Day, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection is launching a new service called MissingKidsALERT and releasing preliminary results from first-of-its kind research into Canada’s abducted and murdered children. An initiative of MissingKids.ca, MissingKidsALERT is a new public notification service that allows Canadians to sign up to receive geographically targeted alerts through a variety of electronic platforms when a child in their community goes missing.

"Our government takes the safety of our citizens very seriously, particularly the most vulnerable members of our society - our children,” said the Hon. Rob Nicholson, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada. “We commend the work done by the Canadian Centre for Child Protection to find missing children, support their families and contribute to research on missing and sexually exploited children.”

The MissingKidsALERT service complements existing provincial Amber Alert systems, but uses an individualized risk assessment to include more missing children cases. This service allows for public alerts to be sent out that might not qualify under existing Amber Alert criteria, but would still benefit from a heightened and rapid response from the public.

“When a child goes missing, every second counts,” says Lianna McDonald, Executive Director of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection. “The MissingKidsALERT service is about creating a network of Canadians in every region of the country who will be the eyes and ears of police and who will be engaged in the search for our missing children. When more people know, more people are looking – and that gives us the best chance of bringing a missing child home quickly and safely.”

“I encourage all families across Canada to sign-up to receive notifications through the Canadian Centre’s MissingKidsALERT service. We need to be ready the next time a child goes missing. While we cannot change our tragedy, it is our hope that this critical service will prevent another family from going through what we experienced with Kimberly’s abduction and murder,” says Jo-Anne Landolt, aunt of Kimberly Proctor from Langford, BC, a Grade 12 student who was abducted and murdered in March 2010.

The Canadian Centre’s preliminary findings from its new research study consists of an initial scan of 82 Canadian child abduction and murder cases spanning from 1961 to present day. Cases being examined involve stranger abductions (meaning the child victim was abducted by someone who was not a family member) and child victims aged 16 years and younger. In conducting research into these cases, the organization hopes to gain a better understanding of such crimes, and in turn, provide recommendations on what can be done to help prevent such tragedies from occurring in the future.

Preliminary numbers show that an overwhelming number of child victims in these types of cases are female (82%) and that 62% of the child victims were 12 years of age and under. 94% of offenders were male – and of the very few female offenders identified in the cases, most did not work alone, but worked with a male accomplice.

In order to get a better understanding of the circumstances surrounding these types of offences, a closer analysis of 23 out of the 82 cases was conducted. Preliminary findings include:

  • In 83% of cases, the offender’s motivation for abducting a child was sexual or presumed sexual.
  • In 65% of cases there was no known prior contact between the offender and the child victim.
  • In 43% of cases, the offender lived in the same apartment block or neighbourhood as the child victim.
  • In 57% of cases the offender lured the child victim (e.g. offering gifts) and in 30% of cases children were taken by force.
  • In a large proportion of cases (78%), child victims were abducted from locations where they could be presumed to be safe (e.g. the street or play areas near the home).
  • In 57% of cases the child victim was chosen at random. In 19% of cases the offender chose a specific child victim.

“The research is showing us exactly how unpredictable and dangerous these offenders are. They take advantage of situations where children are busy doing childlike things and time is of the utmost importance. We need as many Canadians as possible involved in the search. I encourage all Canadians to visit MissingKidsALERT.ca today to sign up to receive notifications,” says McDonald.

The Abducted and Murdered Children in Canada final report is expected to be released in 2013. It will include a series of recommendations to assist policy makers and other stakeholders who are working to reduce the incidence of missing and exploited children. Based on the Canadian Centre’s findings, a number of educational and public awareness materials addressing the issue of increasing the personal safety of children will also be created and made available to parents and the general public.

  • Click here to download MissingKidsALERT backgrounder.
  • Click here to read Abducted and Murdered Children in Canada backgrounder.
  • Click here to read Lianna McDonald’s, Executive Director, Canadian Centre for Child Protection, speech.

-30-

For more information please contact us via:

  • Telephone: (204) 945-5735
  • Toll-Free: (800) 532-9135
  • Send Email

Actualités et communiqués

UN NOUVEL OUTIL PERMETTRA DE MOBILISER PLUS DE CANADIENS DANS LES RECHERCHES D’ENFANTS DISPARUS

Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance dévoile aussi les résultats préliminaires d’une étude sur les enfants enlevés et assassinés au Canada

24 mai 2012
Pour publication immédiate

TORONTO (Ontario) : À la veille de la Journée internationale des enfants disparus, le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance lance un nouveau service appelé AlerteEnfantsDisparus et dévoile les résultats préliminaires d’une étude inédite sur les enfants enlevés et assassinés au Canada. Initiative du programme EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca, AlerteEnfantsDisparus est un nouveau service d’alerte à la population qui permet aux Canadiens qui s’y inscrivent de recevoir, à travers diverses plates-formes électroniques, des alertes ciblées en cas de disparition d’enfant dans leur secteur.

« Notre gouvernement prend très au sérieux la sécurité des citoyens, en particulier celle des membres les plus vulnérables de notre société : nos enfants, déclare l’hon. Rob Nicholson, ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada. Nous félicitons le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance de ce qu’il fait pour retrouver les enfants disparus, soutenir leurs familles et nourrir la recherche sur les enfants disparus et enfants exploités sexuellement. »

Complémentaire aux programmes provinciaux d’alerte AMBER, le service AlerteEnfantsDisparus s’applique à un plus grand nombre de cas de disparition d’enfants après une évaluation individualisée du risque. Ce service permet d’envoyer des alertes à la population dans des cas qui ne répondraient peut-être pas aux critères de l’alerte AMBER, mais qui profiteraient néanmoins d’une mobilisation massive et rapide de la population.

« Lorsqu’un enfant est porté disparu, il n’y a pas une seconde à perdre, souligne Lianna McDonald, directrice générale du Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance. Le service AlerteEnfantsDisparus permettra de créer, dans toutes les régions du Canada, des réseaux de gens aux aguets qui pourront fournir des informations à la police et qui participeront aux recherches pour retrouver nos enfants disparus. Plus il y aura de gens qui seront informés de la disparition d’un enfant, plus il y aura de gens aux aguets, et cela augmentera d’autant les chances de retrouver l’enfant sain et sauf et de le ramener auprès des siens. »

« J’invite toutes les familles du Canada à s’inscrire auprès du Centre canadien pour recevoir les alertes du service AlerteEnfantsDisparus. Il faut qu’on soit prêts la prochaine fois qu’un enfant disparaîtra. Cela ne changera rien à la tragédie que nous avons vécue, mais nous espérons que ce service crucial empêchera une autre famille de vivre ce que nous avons vécu suite à l’enlèvement et à l’assassinat de Kimberly », note Jo-Anne Landolt, tante Kimberly Proctor, une élève de 12e année de Langford (Colombie-Britannique) qui fut enlevée et assassinée en mars 2010.

Les résultats préliminaires de la nouvelle étude du Centre canadien découlent d’une première analyse de 82 cas d’enlèvement et d’assassinat d’enfant survenus au Canada depuis 1961. Les cas à l’étude portent sur des enlèvements d’enfants de 16 ans ou moins commis par une personne ne faisant pas partie de la famille de l’enfant. Le Centre canadien espère que cette étude permettra de mieux comprendre pareils crimes et de formuler des recommandations en vue de prévenir de telles tragédies.

Les résultats préliminaires indiquent qu’un nombre prépondérant d’enfants victimes dans les enlèvements étudiés étaient des filles (82 %) et que 62 % des enfants victimes étaient âgés de 12 ans et moins. De plus, 94 % des ravisseurs étaient des hommes, et parmi le très petit nombre de ravisseuses identifiées, la plupart n’avaient pas agi seules, mais en complicité avec un homme.

Afin de mieux comprendre les circonstances entourant les crimes de ce genre, les chercheurs ont procédé à une analyse approfondie de 23 des 82 cas. Voici leurs premières constatations :

  • Dans 83 % des cas, le motif de l’enlèvement était sexuel ou présumé sexuel.
  • Dans 65 % des cas, aucune trace de contacts préalables entre le ravisseur et l’enfant victime n'a été relevée.
  • Dans 43 % des cas, le ravisseur habitait dans le même immeuble d’appartements ou le même quartier que l’enfant victime.
  • Dans 57 % des cas, le ravisseur avait amadoué l’enfant victime (par ex., en lui offrant des cadeaux) et dans 30 % des cas l’enfant s’est fait enlever de force.
  • Dans une large proportion des cas (78 %), l’enlèvement est survenu dans un lieu où l’enfant aurait pu être considéré en sécurité (par ex., dans la rue ou dans une aire de jeu près de chez lui).
  • Dans 57 % des cas, l’enfant victime a été choisi au hasard. Dans 19 % des cas, le ravisseur a jeté son dévolu sur un enfant qu’il avait choisi.

« Les résultats montrent précisément à quel point ces ravisseurs sont imprévisibles et dangereux. Ils profitent de situations où les enfants vaquent à leurs occupations normales, et il est de la première importance d’agir rapidement. Nous voulons mobiliser le plus grand nombre possible de Canadiens dans les recherches. J’invite tous les Canadiens à s’inscrire tout de suite sur le site AlerteEnfantsDisparus.ca afin de recevoir les alertes », ajoute Mme McDonald.

La version définitive du rapport Les enfants enlevés et assassinés au Canada devrait paraître en 2013. Elle contiendra un certain nombre de recommandations à l’adresse des décideurs et autres acteurs à la recherche de solutions pour réduire les cas de disparition et d’exploitation d’enfants. À partir des résultats cette étude, le Centre canadien élaborera des outils d’éducation et de sensibilisation sur les mesures à prendre pour renforcer la sécurité personnelle des enfants et mettra ces outils à la disposition des parents et du grand public.

  • Cliquez ici pour télécharger le document d’information sur le service AlerteEnfantsDisparus.
  • Cliquez ici pour lire le document d’information sur l’étude Les enfants enlevés et assassinés au Canada.
  • Cliquez ici pour lire le discours de Lianna McDonald, directrice générale du Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance.

-30-

Pour plus de détails, voici comment nous joindre :

  • Téléphone: (204) 945-5735
  • Sans frais: (800) 532-9135
  • Nous écrire