News and Media

May 25th is Missing Children’s Day

The Canadian Centre for Child Protection shares the single most effective way to reduce the risk of a child going missing

May 25, 2017
For Immediate Release

Winnipeg, MB: Today on International Missing Children’s Day, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection (Canadian Centre) is reaching out to all parents to educate them about the single most effective way to reduce the risk of a child going missing.

Through over 30 years of working with families of missing children, the Canadian Centre has witnessed the impacts of a missing child on families and communities. “It’s our hope that not another child goes missing,” said Christy Dzikowicz, director of MissingKids.ca at the Canadian Centre. “While we know that we cannot always prevent these terrible tragedies, we must learn from them in order to better protect children.”

In a recent study from the Canadian Centre titled “Abducted then Murdered Children: A Canadian Study (Preliminary Results)” which closely examined 147 cases between 1970 and 2010, we know:1

  • In 68% of these cases,2 the child was alone when abducted.
  • 41% of the abductions occurred in June, July or August.
  • Across all age groups, 53% were last seen between the hours of 3:30 p.m. to 10 p.m.3
  • 45% occurred on a Friday or Saturday.
  • 67% were in-transit at the time of abduction (i.e. walking, biking), such as travelling to school, a friend’s home or a nearby park or mall.4

Armed with this information, as the end of school year approaches the Canadian Centre is encouraging all parents to talk to their children about the importance of the Buddy System. As children reach the teenage years and have more freedom and independence, the Buddy System is more critical than ever. The study revealed that being alone was one of the most significant risk factors for abduction.

“It seems simple, but the Buddy System is the most effective strategy that reduces the risk of children being abducted,” said Dzikowicz. “We see this across age groups – from when children are small all the way up to the vulnerable young adult years. The Buddy System is the number one way of keeping our kids safe in situations that may have been preventable.”

“So many families have been impacted by the disappearance of young people too many times,” said Audrey North, cousin of Christine Wood. “Our children are up against so much and face many risks as they grow and gain independence. We need to encourage our youth to stick together in order to help keep them safe. There are many unanswered questions for so many families, at least in part because their missing family member was last seen alone.”

1. Percentages below are not all out of 147 cases (referred to as instances in the study), as some information was not known for all 147 cases.

2. It could not be determined for all 147 cases if the child was alone. The 68% is in reference to 124 cases.

3. It could not be determined for all 147 cases when the child was last seen. The 53% refers to 107 of the cases.

4. It could not be determined for all 147 cases what the child was doing at the time of abduction. The 67% refers to 120 of the cases.

For more information please contact:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

Phone:
204-945-8074

Email:
communications@protectchildren.ca

-30-

About the Canadian Centre for Child Protection: The Canadian Centre for Child Protection is a national charity dedicated to the personal safety and protection of children. Our goal is to reduce the sexual abuse and exploitation of children, assist in the location of missing children and to prevent child victimization. The Canadian Centre operates Cybertip.ca – Canada’s national tipline to report child sexual abuse and exploitation on the Internet, as well as other prevention and intervention services to the Canadian public.

About the Child Safety Family Advocacy Division and MissingKids.ca: MissingKids.ca is part of the Canadian Centre’s Child Safety and Family Advocacy Division (CSFAD). CSFAD provides support to Canadian families whose children are missing, have been recovered, or have been sexually abused and exploited. CSFAD also works with families, law enforcement and child welfare agencies to help prevent and respond to situations where a child is at risk of going missing or being sexually exploited.

About International Missing Children’s Day: May 25th was proclaimed by U.S. President Ronald Reagan as Missing Children’s Day in 1983 following the disappearance of 6-year-old Etan Patz on May 25, 1979 from New York City. Solicitor General Perrin Beatty first declared Canada’s participation in Missing Children’s Day in 1986. International Missing Children’s Day is now recognized throughout North America and Europe as an annual reminder to make child protection a priority and renew efforts to reunite missing children with their families.

Actualités et communiqués

Le 25 mai, c’est la Journée des enfants disparus

Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance dévoile le moyen le plus efficace de prévenir les disparitions d’enfants

25 mai 2017
Pour diffusion immédiate

Winnipeg (Manitoba) : En cette Journée internationale des enfants disparus, le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (CCPE) veut attirer l’attention des parents sur le moyen le plus efficace de prévenir les disparitions d’enfants.

Le CCPE, qui intervient auprès des familles d’enfants disparus depuis plus de 30 ans, a pu constater à quel point les disparitions d’enfants affectent les familles et les populations. « Nous espérons qu’aucun autre enfant ne disparaîtra, affirme Christy Dzikowicz, directrice d’EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca au CCPE. Même s’il n’est pas toujours possible de prévenir ces terribles tragédies, nous devons en tirer des leçons pour mieux protéger les enfants. »

Les résultats suivants sont tirés d’une récente étude du CCPE intitulée Les enlèvements d’enfants avec assassinat : une étude canadienne (résultats préliminaires), qui s’est penchée sur 147 cas survenus entre 1970 et 20101 :

  • Dans 68 % des cas2, l’enfant était seul au moment de l’enlèvement.
  • 41 % des enlèvements sont survenus en juin, en juillet ou en août.
  • 53 % des enfants ont été vus pour la dernière fois entre 15 h 30 et 22 h, toutes les tranches d’âge confondues3.
  • 45 % des enlèvements sont survenus un vendredi ou un samedi.
  • Dans 67 % des cas, l’enfant s’en allait quelque part (à pied ou à vélo), par exemple à l’école, chez un ami, à un parc avoisinant ou à un centre commercial4.

Sur la base de ces informations et à l’approche de la fin de l’année scolaire, le CCPE appelle les parents à faire valoir à leurs enfants l’importance du Principe du compagnon. Quand les enfants entrent dans l’adolescence et ont plus de liberté et d’indépendance, lePrincipe du compagnon devient plus important que jamais. L’étude a révélé que le fait d’être seul constitue le plus grand facteur de risque d’enlèvement.

« Ça a l’air simple, mais le Principe du compagnon est la stratégie la plus efficace pour réduire les risques d’enlèvements d’enfants, explique Mme Dzikowicz. On le voit dans tous les groupes d’âge – depuis la petite enfance jusqu’à la période de vulnérabilité du début de l’âge adulte. Le Principe du compagnon est la meilleure façon de protéger nos enfants dans des situations qui aurait peut-être pu être évitées. »

« Tellement de familles sont éprouvées par la disparition d’un enfant; ça arrive trop souvent », observe Audrey North, cousine de Christine Wood. Nos enfants sont confrontés à tant de choses et à tant de risques à mesure qu’ils grandissent et gagnent en indépendance. Nous devons inciter nos jeunes à rester ensemble pour leur sécurité. Beaucoup de questions restent sans réponse pour de nombreuses familles, au moins en partie parce qu’un des leurs était seul au moment de sa disparition. »

1. Les pourcentages indiqués ci-dessous ne sont pas tous calculés sur 147 cas, car certains détails demeurent inconnus pour certains cas.

2. Dans certains des 147 cas, il n’a pas été possible de déterminer si l’enfant était seul. Le 68 % est calculé sur 124 cas.

3. Dans certains des 147 cas, il n’a pas été possible de déterminer à quel moment l’enfant a été vu pour la dernière fois. Le 53 % est calculé sur 107 cas.

4. Dans certains des 147 cas, il n’a pas été possible de déterminer ce que l’enfant faisait au moment de l’enlèvement. Le 67 % est calculé sur 120 cas.

Contact médias :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca

-30-

Un mot sur le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance : Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance est un organisme caritatif national voué à la sécurité personnelle et à la protection des enfants. Il a pour objectif de réduire l’exploitation et les abus sexuels d’enfants, d’aider à retrouver les enfants disparus et de prévenir la violence faite aux enfants. Le Centre gère Cyberaide.ca – la centrale canadienne de signalement des cas d’abus pédosexuels et d’exploitation sexuelle d’enfants sur Internet – ainsi que d’autres services de prévention et d’intervention destinés à la population canadienne.

Un mot sur la Division de la sécurité des enfants et de la défense des familles et EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca : EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca fait partie de la Division de la sécurité des enfants et de la défense des familles (DSEDF) du CCPE. La DSEDF offre du soutien aux familles canadiennes après la disparition ou le retour d’un enfant, ou en cas d’abus pédosexuel ou d’exploitation sexuelle. La DSEDF travaille aussi avec les familles, les forces de l’ordre et les agences de protection de l’enfance dans un esprit de prévention et d’intervention en situation de risque de disparition ou d’exploitation sexuelle d’un enfant.

La Journée internationale des enfants disparus : Le 25 mai a été proclamé Journée des enfants disparus par le président américain Ronald Reagan en 1983, suite à la disparition d'Etan Patz (6 ans), à New York, le 25 mai 1979. Le solliciteur général Perrin Beatty proclama la participation du Canada à la Journée des enfants disparus en 1986. La Journée internationale des enfants disparus est désormais reconnue partout en Amérique du Nord et en Europe. Elle rappelle chaque année l'importance de mettre la protection des enfants au centre des préoccupations et de redoubler d'efforts pour restituer les enfants disparus à leur famille.